Skip to content

Nativity Painting

December 13, 2010
Nativity Painting

Outdoor Christmas decoration

My totally secular collection of outdoor Christmas sprigs and lights was really bugging me, so I decided to paint this nativity on a pine board and tie it to the iron chair on my porch. I love it. My model was an old Christmas card, so I can’t say the scene is an original developed by me. I did take liberties with it, including giving Yeshua darker skin and black hair, as opposed to fair and strawberry blond. It seems not to be well known that His ethnicity is Israelite/Jew, tribe of Judah/Yudah, royal lineage of David.

I used exterior house paints left over from our recent extreme makeover, a result of hail damage and a big insurance payout. Though I wasn’t thinking “primary colors” when I chose my palette, that’s what I sort of ended up with, though not precisely. They were close enough, though, to let me successfully mix most of the colors I needed for this painting, with some minor headaches.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

