Skip to content

Step-by-Step Progression of a Hand Knitted Norwegian Sweater

January 12, 2011

My son, who had never liked sweaters, suddenly got the urge to request a Norwegian pullover. My husband takes partial credit for this, claiming he talked the stubborn kid into it. That’s probably true, but no one talks Andy into anything he doesn’t want to do. Therefore, I’m encouraged.

It’s been several years since I’ve knitted one of these things, mostly because there’s been no need. Everyone in the family who wanted one has got at least one. I have a little stash of Peer Gynt yarn. Some phone calls and web searches kind of came up dry. No local stores carry Peer Gynt or do business with Swedish Yarn Imports. An internet search produced few results and no bargains. I decided to mix what I’ve got with Dale Heilo. There’s a slight weight difference, but I can adjust for that (I hope). I ordered Heilo from Yarns By Design and it arrived yesterday. I picked it up today — 15 skeins of black at a cost of $80. Did I mention son wants a black and white sweater?

Been too busy to do my calculations ahead of time, but I will tackle that maybe today. I’m getting excited now! I let the family design their own sweaters based on a collection of ancient Sandnes “Til Fjells” books I have, courtesy of Jane Hutchinson, so I always have to calculate stitch counts rather than just work from some nice pattern with all the counts already established. No matter; it ain’t that hard. The family can have whatever combination of motifs, borders, and styles that they want.

Tube Hem

Tube hem for start of sweater

Spent evening working on a tube hem for the sweater. Brutal thing! Tube hems aren’t bad on flat knitting, but they can be dreadful to work in the round, especially on dark colors. It doesn’t get any worse than black! In the round, one must watch carefully for twists to develop (unwanted) and misalignment of stitches. I look forward to adding some white to this, as it will help me to see the work better.

I love tube hems. They are sturdy and so very aesthetically appealing in fine hand knitting. Though they require extra effort, the end result is sufficient justification.

I prefer to keep the edge of my multicolors dark because edges attract dirt, so that is why I’ve endured tube hemming in black.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

