Skip to content

Waxed a Basket

October 25, 2014
Basket got a waxing

I waxed this basket

I hadn’t waxed a basket in years, as it became unnecessary when I switched from raffia to sinew. However, this one got slightly damaged when it slid out from underneath a car seat during a lengthy trip and then was stepped on. The damage was unnoticeable to the eye, but I could feel it in that a section of it had lost its stiffness, which meant a few pine needles had cracked. I was not going to take any chances with it, so hauled out the beeswax stash, melted it on, and baked it. It’s now plenty firm.

This little basket is for advertising. I clip it to my purse and wear it, to kind of peddle the fact that I am an accomplished coiler. This is especially useful when I go to art events. Artists like these things, and I get my name out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

